Mash Cafe, Glenbrook NSW

Delicious organic fair trade coffee, anyone?

Coffee supplied by local roaster 'Morgans

Coffee supplied by local roaster ‘Morgans

I love finding new cafes and at the recommendation of my brother, I recently visited Mash Cafe, located at the foot of the Blue Mountains (19 Ross St, Glenbrook), and I must say: I. am. in. love!

Hidden back from the main road, you may miss the quaint little cottage that hides the local favourite, if not for the groups of people that congregate at the entrance before scurrying down the yellow brick road pathway.

Promoting ethical business, Mash offers organic and fair trade produce sourced from local suppliers. Even their sugar packets are fair trade! And they have vegan and gluten-free options too, which for my close friends is a big plus.

Quaint little Mash Cafe cottage

Quaint little Mash Cafe cottage

The menu (which is seasonal) is so tempting, ‘Eggs Barcelona’ (poached eggs on sourdough toast with roasted capsicum & chorizo, sprinkled with paprika) catches my eye but I cannot go past the bacon and eggs for my first taste test. It is my meal of choice and I rank all cafes on their ability to poach an egg properly and not leave my bacon wet and soft.

Free range eggs on sourdough w/ bacon & roasted tomatoes

Free range eggs on sourdough w/ bacon & roasted tomatoes

So I leave my Spanish meal for next time (because there WILL be a next time) and I choose the free range eggs on sourdough with a side of bacon and roasted tomatoes – and it is delicious. The bright yellow yolks ooze on to the crunchy bread and the bacon is smoky and cooked just the way I like it.

The meal is filling and the company amazing. We all decide to come back and try their other meals which also sound delectable.

Oh, and to top it off? We discover a local secondhand book store, Blue Dragon Books (Shop 3/11 Ross St) just down the road in which we find old classics and firsthand editions nestled amongst new titles. Loved it!

Mash Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

