4Fourteen, Surry Hills

Popcorn and liquor at 4Fourteen, Surry Hills

Gotta love free popcorn!

BAAAAAAAAABES! Who else is obsessed with this year’s My Kitchen Rules television series and the enigmatic chef and judge Mr Colin Fassnidge?

After my visit to the Taste of Sydney food festival last month and seeing the man himself (see below with the piggy!), I decided I had to go visit at least one of his restaurants and see what he thinks maketh the meal!

Taste of Sydney 15.3.13 004

So a few Friday nights ago, I headed to 4Fourteen (72a Fitzroy St, Surry Hills) with my good friend C for a cocktail or two and one of the most delish meals I’ve had in a while.

Seeing the restaurant on My Kitchen Rules now as the ‘Come Back Kitchen’ I’m excited I got the chance to go before the secret is out!

The place is already pumping when we arrive without a booking so we are more than happy to be  placed at the bar where we can watch the bar staff create the cocktails and still see the restaurant from all angles.

The ambience is very different at night compared to on the show, I think.. the lighting is a bit darker offering dark corners for groups to hide in and the restaurant is quite loud with guests chatting their Friday night away with delicious food and wine.

It’s definitely not a stuffy restaurant and I really like the open kitchen concept where we go and snap the chefs in action!

4Fourteen kitchen

Head chef and co-owner Carla Jones working her magic

The waitstaff are also uber friendly (and jump out of your way whenever you’re walking through the restaurant, which I wasn’t accustomed to) and we have a lovely girl kitted in 50′s get-up complete with pin-up hair and bandana who takes us to our seat and goes through the menu choices with us.

We begin by chatting to the friendly barstaff about what drinks they recommend and they decide I deserve the aptly named ‘Princess Needs A Drink’ cocktail to begin my weekend, and they weren’t wrong! It’s subtle and sweet flavours dance on my tongue as I down the delectable drink alongside the free smoky flavoured popcorn.

IMG_20130322_195232

But what to eat?!

Menu at 4Fourteen as at April 2013

We are spoilt for choice with a delicious sounding menu of small, large, and LARGER meals, the last of which are designed to be shared between two people. Prices aren’t crazy either which is always good!!

We start with ‘a nibble’ and select the Grilled Rodriguez Chorizo with Lemon ($8) which, despite my terrible camera phone pic, comes out still sizzling and is delicious. It starts our meal with a POW of flavour.

IMG_20130322_200552

For our mains, we cannot decide between the large Roast Pork with Smoked Kipflers and Rhubarb ($34) and another main or the larger shared meal of Lamb Breast with Lentils and Slow Roast Tomato ($50) until the waitress tells us they can do a smaller version of the Lamb dish so we can share the two. HAPPY DAYS!

Roast Pork with Smoked Kipflers and Rhubarb @ 4Fourteen

Roast Pork with Smoked Kipflers and Rhubarb (front left) and the lamb arrives in its own pot (back right)

Lamb Breast with Lentils and Slow Roast Tomato @ 4Fourteen

Lamb Breast with Lentils and Slow Roast Tomato #yum!

The pork and lamb are both cooked to melt-in-your-mouth perfection leaving C and I completely satisfied.. each morsel of food was perfectly matched  and if I wasn’t in a public place, I’d probably have licked the plate clean!

I was a very happy (and well fed) tourist and next time I’ll make room for the dessert menu – deconstructed Bounty? Hells yes! :)

4Fourteen on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “4Fourteen, Surry Hills

Leave a Reply

